Skip to content

Autumn Spice: Is it already the season?

October 4, 2010

Today’s Tea: Autumn Spice by TeaGschwendner

Seasonally sipped by: caclob

September and October have the highest number of birthdays in the year, which makes sense when you see what happens 9 months before.  This convergence of birthdays means a large number of birthday celebrations–and apparently 1980 had a massive number of extra people born.  Many of my friends were celebrating their 30th birthday this September, and I had to get them an appropriate birthday present.  Since I often lug around my precious teas and happily convince my friends to start drinking the teas, I’ve gotten quite a few addicted.  This means a good present is a couple of loose leaf teas, which means a stop by the tea shop.  As I was paying for my purchases, the lovely lady behind the counter gave me a free sample of the Autumn Spice tea (sometimes called Karl Heinz, for some reason I haven’t figured out yet).

The tea is a black tea mix spiced like a chai with cinnamon, orange peel, lemon peel, star anise, anise, cloves, and some additional flavoring.  It smells pleasant and spicy, but not in the peppery way like the Bombay Chai.

While TG recommends only steeping the tea for two minutes, since it’s an aromatic black, but I steeped it for 5 minutes for a stronger flavor.  The tea isn’t as spicy as its chai-like spicing would suggest.  It’s just a smooth tea, with almost a creamy like flavor.

Overall, it’s a lovely autumn tea (it’s only available to January), but I’m not sure that I would recommend this as a must have.  Nice enough tea though.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

