Skip to content

Earl Grey Redux: The Tea Lady from Other Eyes

August 20, 2010

Today’s Tea: Earl Grey Classic from The Tea Lady

Prepared by: caclob

Goodtea already did a fantastic review of The Tea Lady’s Earl Grey Classic here, so I’m not going to bother repeating what she said.  However, I had a bit of a different take on the Earl Grey Classic.

I picked up the tea at the same farmer’s stand in West Virginia, while on the search for peaches for a peach pie.  It was a surprise to see loose leaf teas there, but I’m not one to complain.  Since Earl Grey is a staple, but one that can sometimes go wrong, I decided to test this Tea Lady’s mettle.

I have a firm policy, after many a bad cup of Earl Grey, to never steep them longer than two minutes–ever.  I very carefully time my Earl Greys, because though I might enjoy the perfume-like nature of the tea, I don’t actually want to drink perfume.  So with this tea, I followed my policy and it came out perfectly.  The tea is a bergamot love letter.  It isn’t too strong, but it won’t leave you mistaking this for any other tea.  Fragrant, with a good black tea base, it works quite well.  No sugar, no milk, just black tea and bergamot oil.

My father happened to be right next to me while I was making the first cup, and smelling, then tasting, how good the tea was, he wanted his own cup.  Fresh leaves (I don’t reuse Earl Grey leaves, because the bergamot is too weak then) and another two minutes, and the next cup was as good as the first.

Conclusion: Lovely Earl Grey from an unexpected source.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

