Skip to content

Fanfare for the Common Tea

January 14, 2010

Today’s Tea: Assam Organic (bin 101) from Tealuxe

Enjoyed by: UnSteepable

Hello, all, and thanks to my friends here at Tea & Procrastination for the opportunity to share my passion for tea.  This being my first post, I’d like to start simple, with what I consider to be my everyday cuppa: a nice organic Assam from Tealuxe.

Now, I admit that on days that I need to get up and go, I still fall back on a bag of PG Tips in a travel mug.  That was the tea that first made me sit up and take notice of the sense of well-being and wonder that tea can provide.  And well-being was exactly what I felt I was missing when I first tried it after three hours on British Airways.  It was bold, rich, and warm, and packed a kick that banished the fatigue of travel.  A true revelation.

And to be fair, PG Tips still does that for me:  It’s a great travel tea.  But I find that it has the tendency to oversteep quickly in the thermos or travel mug, and the caffeine content and flavor tend to be too much of a shock to the system if you try to drink it later in the day.  So I’m always looking for black teas that will give me the boldness and flavor without those drawbacks.

Bin 101 Organic Assam fits the bill.  It’s a great “wake-up” tea for the morning or afternoon, with a nice caffeine hit that doesn’t make me too jittery.  As an Assam, it has that nice strong black tea flavor with a gentle curve to it; it’s drinkable straight, although I like mine with a little low fat milk.  As a bonus it’s not very expensive, and it’s organic, which means the folks picking in the fields out there aren’t having to deal with all of the chemicals.

I wish I had other Assams on hand like Goodtea so that I could compare, but I humbly offer this basic black as my choice of the daily cuppa.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 12, 2010 4:09 pm

    Yay, another Tips fan!

Leave a Reply

