Skip to content

Make Your Own Lavender Earl Grey Latte

November 26, 2009

Today’s tea: Homemade London Fog (Upton’s Original Earl Grey +  Organic Dried Lavender Buds from The Lavender Fields)

Blended by: goodtea

Some time ago, I found my favorite Earl Grey and vowed to get some lavender to recreate the London Fog lattes that were all the rage at Starbucks.  Today I finally got around to combining lavender with the lovely Earl of Grey.

The London Fog latte at Starbucks consists of Earl Grey, lavender in some form, a super sugary vanilla syrup, and steamed milk–nothing terribly exotic.

Unless you happen to grow your own fresh lavender or already have some in your kitchen, the lavender might be the hardest part to find.  Make sure you get culinary grade lavender that’s free of herbicides and pesticides. I got mine from the highly recommended The Lavender Fields in California. The good thing about lavender is that a little goes a long way–it’s a very powerful herb!  You can use this lavender in cooking and aromatherapy, too, so it’s a good addition to your spice rack.

For the tea base, I prefer Upton Tea Import’s Original Earl Grey because it’s affordable and has that classic Earl Grey flavor without being too strong on the bergamot.  Given that you’ll be adding the powerful lavender to it, too much bergamot might leave you feeling like you’re drinking perfume.

Next you should add a pinch of lavender buds (maybe 3-6 tiny buds total) to a teaspoon of Earl Grey.  I infused the blend in boiling water for 4 minutes as recommended. The smell was heavenly–the sweet, soothing scent of lavender flowers with a hint of citrus and black tea. (This is part of the experience you’d miss at Starbucks, where the plastic lids and the everpresent coffee easily destroy the aromatic joys of lavender tea.)

As for flavor, lavender and Earl Grey are an absolutely heavenly combination. The lavender adds a natural sweetness and a refreshing aftertaste to the light Earl Grey.  I think next time I might add a bit less lavender, as it  seems to make for a slightly oilier mouthfeel.  As I said, a little lavender goes a long way!

Now, for the latte part: I don’t have a milk steamer, so I just added a bit of unsweetened vanilla-flavored almond milk (my current favorite milk substitute) to the tea. Almond milk is a bit too rich and nutty for this tea, so regular milk or soy milk would probably be better options.  The lavender makes the tea sweet enough for me, too, so I didn’t add any additional sweetener. (Yet another reason I prefer the homemade “London Fog”–personal control over sugar and anything else that might go into the drink!)

The great part about concocting your own tea blend like this is that you control all the ingredients–change the tea to lavender ratio, use different types of tea bases, serve it plain or with milk… Experiment until you create something that perfectly suits your tastes! It’ll be cheaper and a lot more satisfying than that latte at Starbucks!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2009 10:10 am

    Great recipe idea. I too like to get soymilk in a latte at Starbucks. And yes, even though I’m a tea purist, there’s a local Starbucks right across the street from my bus stop that I basically need to wait in when it’s a cold Minnesota day.

  2. goodtea permalink*
    November 27, 2009 11:07 am

    Nothing wrong with enjoying a warm building and a warm drink, even at Starbucks. I still end up going there more often than I should–I just can’t resist their cinnamon rolls.

  3. Betty permalink
    April 21, 2016 9:39 am

    Thank you! I discovered Lavender Earl Gray tea at the London Tea Room in St. Louis, MO, but needed a decaf version. I was glad to find lavender buds at World Market! So I use 2 Bigelow decaf Earl Gray tea bags, adding 1 tsp. of crushed lavender buds to a very large tea pot, which works nicely. I don’t sweeten it, just add cashew milk (to keep it British!). I put the tea bags into the pot, pour on the boiling water, then pour some of the tea pot water over the lavender buds in a separate measuring cup. I steep them separately, all for 4 minutes. I then strain the lavender buds out and pour that “tea” back into the tea pot with the Earl Gray. I tried putting the crushed lavender buds in a “tea ball,” but I get more of their flavor this way. What do you think? Could I do this more simply?

Leave a Reply

