Skip to content

Sage Wisdom

June 21, 2009

Today’s Tea: Sage Leaves by Tea Gschwendner

Experimented with by: goodtea

The first post in a while, and it’s not even a real tea? My apologies. But when I tried my first cup of this tisane, I knew I had to blog about it.

Sage is well-known as a spice in cooking, but it has a long history of medicinal use around the world. Even now, it’s used to treat everything from indigestion to menopause to Alzheimer’s (apparently with some success, too). Fortunately, it’s also very delicious!

The soft, dried sage leaves in the bag were of varying sizes, from tiny bits to long, twiggy pieces. The warm, herbal aroma of sage has a hint of mint and a faint, peppery spiciness. I let the leaves infuse for about ten minutes, and soon  the fragrant scent of sage filled the entire kitchen. The infusion itself is a nice, golden color with a hint of green.

The flavor is even better than I expected, though I can see this not being to everyone’s taste. It is very smooth and light on the tongue, but then a mild bitterness hits and trails off with a note of pepper and ends with a cool, refreshing, almost minty feeling.  It took me a moment to get used to it, but then I realized it was eminently drinkable. It just feels invigorating and healthy.

Tea Gschwendner recommends adding some honey, so I tried it and it tastes great! The honey gives it a bit more body, and the sweetness complements the sage very well. It reminds me a lot of those Ricola candies (which actually use sage as an ingredient). With honey, the sage starts to remind me of a milder, less stimulating alternative to ginger tea.  I suspect a bit of lemon (with or without honey) would also be amazing in this. It strikes me as a good drink for lazy evenings and sluggish mornings.

Overall, this sage infusion has a rather medicinal, slightly bitter taste, but it is very refreshing and quite enjoyable. And for only $2.97 per 50 grams, it’s quite a steal. This is definitely something I will keep in stock for days when I’m feeling just a little under the weather.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. sakurae permalink
    June 22, 2009 2:58 am

    Ooh neat! I would have never thought to use sage as a tea!

  2. goodtea permalink*
    June 22, 2009 6:55 pm

    I heard about it a lot in Europe, but I don’t think it’s very common in the U.S.

Leave a Reply

