Skip to content

Rooibos and Hibiscus? Say it isn’t so!

February 25, 2009

Today’s Tea: Rooibos Pretoria found at Upton Tea

Boiled by: caclob

Continuing with my new samples, I was recommended Rooibos Pretoria by goodtea, because of our mutual respect for the South African plant.

I’m in love with Rooibos, but today I’m a little upset. My beloved Rooibos had an affair with Hibiscus. This I cannot tolerate. Hibiscus? Really? That pink flower? She’s so easy! She seems to be in every herbal blend. Why couldn’t she just leave my Rooibos alone?

Now, a little back story: I detest Hibiscus teas. The cloyingly pink flower is found in almost all herbal teas it seems, because it’s a cheap and easy way to bring flavor and color to tea. But it doesn’t even taste good! I usually go out of my way to avoid any tea that has hibiscus in it, because it leaves a horrible aftertaste. I knew this tea had some in it when I bought it, but it had other nice qualities. I was hoping that the amazing Rooibos would compensate for the horribleness of hibiscus.

The tea smells soft and honey-like, like most Rooibos teas do. The tea produces an auburn tea, which is nice to look at. The taste is enhanced with blue mallow blossoms and sunflower petals, which allow for a grassy taste to come through. And then it comes: the annoying hibiscus aftertaste. The tea was nice till that point. It tastes like I liked a weird nickel spoon, leaving a metallic taste in my mouth.

I think I’m too biased against hibiscus to even give this one a real shot.

Conclusion: It’s a nice tea, if you can stand hibiscus. I personally won’t put this one in my rotation of teas.

One Comment leave one →
  1. goodtea permalink*
    February 26, 2009 10:31 pm

    Funny how everyone’s palate is so different. Grassy? Metallic? I taste vanilla and citrus!

    Oh well, that’s what samples are for. Less hibiscus for you and more for me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

