Skip to content

Another stab at Rooibos Chai

November 27, 2008

Today’s Tea: Rooibos Chai from Upton Tea Imports

Chosen by: goodtea

I love chai and I love rooibos, though I never though the two would go well together until caclob introduced me to an absolutely stunning blend. So then I had to set out on my own to sample other versions of this splendid combination.

Upton has a very good black tea chai, so I thought I’d get a sample of their Rooibos Chai for a caffeine-free cup of spice.

This chai contains the pretty red rooibus, of course, as well as big chunks of dried citrus peels. You’ll also find cinnamon, cardamom, ginger, anise, pepper, and cloves in it. The dry tea smells deliciously spicy, like a South Asian marketplace, but it gets a softer, almost vanilla scent from the cardamom once infused.

There’s a refreshing, almost minty aftertaste when you drink this chai. A nice hint of pepper lingers after each swallow. The natural sweetness of the rooibos makes this an easy tea to drink without sugar. The anise flavor is rather strong, though. I’m not a fan of anise, so I was a little disappointed since it seems to overpower the other flavors and make it less spicy than I had hoped. But if you’re a fan of licorice or anise, then you may well love this chai.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 28, 2008 3:21 pm

    Awesome! Thanks for the hint. Is always nice to add a new Rooibos tea to my collection.

Leave a Reply

