Skip to content

Rooibos Chai

November 3, 2008

Today’s tea: Teavana’s Rooibos Chai

Tasted by: caclob

I love herbal teas, so you’ll be seeing me write about a lot of them, because I don’t like caffeine.  (I was recently scolded by goodtea that Rooibos is not a real tea, but an herbal.)

I’ve always loved a good chai tea, from the first one I ever had when I was 12 in Harvard Sq in Cambridge, MA.  That was just such a fantastic first taste of a classic tea.  The cinnamon, cloves, cardamon, everything in a spicy creamy mix was my tea of choice for the next few years.

The Rooibos craze over the last few years had caught me in it too.  It’s a pretty color, and absorbs other flavors really nicely, so when I saw Rooibos chai, I had to try some.

The color and smell are spicy, the cloves and cinnamon dominating the tea.  Hints of citrus are also there. The tea is robust, and a good boiling water brings out all the flavors.

I have always loved the smell of cloves.  Oil of cloves is a fantastic scent in my opinion. It maybe less known, but cloves are used as a topical analgesic.  Dentists in the past would rub this on the gums of patients as a way of numbing their mouths.  The cloves in the Rooibos chai also slightly numb the tongue, almost tingling the tastebuds. As an actress once said on Iron Chef, “It tickles my tastebuds!”  It kind of reminds me of Fugu, but less deadly if prepared incorrectly.

I drink this stuff now almost daily.  It’s my morning tea, because it’s so fragrant and warm.  I can just sit there and smell it for 5 minutes while it cools.  I really recommend this tea.

When I bought my last 1/2 pound (yeah, I really like this stuff), the salesperson recommended I add it to a black tea and turn it into a milk tea.  I’ll definitely write about how that goes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2008 7:20 pm

    Nice recipe, I really like how rooibos tea goes together with almost anything.

Trackbacks

  1. Another stab at Rooibos Chai « Tea & Procrastination, Inc.

Leave a Reply

